Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Underwriter Message

Only small handful of Statehouse incumbents lose in Indiana primary

Lauren Chapman
IPB News
Six incumbent state lawmakers lost reelection bids in Indiana's 2022 primary, all Republicans. Three of those legislators lost in races to fellow incumbents.

Only a small handful of Indiana Statehouse incumbents lost their reelection bids in Tuesday’s primary, all Republicans.

There was a concerted effort this cycle by more conservative challengers to unseat lawmakers, but few were successful.

There was always going to be at least three incumbent losses this year. That’s because there were three races with incumbents facing off against each other.

Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) beat Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomfield) after Ellington moved into Borders' district following last year's redistricting.

Sen. Gary Byrne (R-Byrneville) beat Sen. Kevin Boehlein (R-Greenville) in a race that featured two incumbents who only joined the General Assembly in the last few months. Both of them caucused in to replace legislators who left their seats early.

READ MORE: Only two of Indiana's nine school referendums fail to receive voter approval

Join the conversation and sign up for the Indiana Two-Way. Text "Indiana" to 73224. Your comments and questions in response to our weekly text help us find the answers you need on statewide issues.

But the other one of those incumbent vs. incumbent races was part of a larger trend this cycle. Rep. Curt Nisly (R-Milford) lost to his House colleague Rep. Craig Snow (R-Warsaw). Nisly has long been one of the two most extreme members of the GOP at the Statehouse.

The other most extreme member also lost. Rep. John Jacob (R-Indianapolis) was one of the incumbents upset by an outside challenger, Julie McGuire. McGuire is a former policy analyst for the Indiana Senate Republican caucus who was backed financially by the House GOP caucus, seeking to oust Jacob.

Still, two candidates who channeled anger among some conservatives over perceived inaction at the Statehouse, over COVID-19 mandates and government overreach did unseat incumbents.

Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) lost to consultant Robb Greene, who specifically cited what he viewed as failures of Republican leadership to stand up to big business and big government during the pandemic.

Rep. Dan Leonard (R-Huntington), considered one of the more moderate Republican voices at the Statehouse, was unseated after 10 terms in the General Assembly by Wabash County Councilmember Lorissa Sweet.

Sweet was backed a group aligned with Nisly. And Leonard had been the face of obstructing Nisly and Jacob's agenda at the Statehouse in his role as House Rules Committee chair, in which he would often challenge ultra-conservative measures brought by Nisly and Jacob.

Contact reporter Brandon at or follow him on Twitter at @brandonjsmith5.

Copyright 2022 IPB News. To see more, visit .

Brandon Smith is excited to be working for public radio in Indiana. He has previously worked in public radio as a reporter and anchor in mid-Missouri for KBIA Radio out of Columbia. Prior to that, he worked for WSPY Radio in Plano, Illinois as a show host, reporter, producer and anchor. His first job in radio was in another state capitol, in Jefferson City, Missouri, as a reporter for three radio stations around Missouri. Brandon graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with a Bachelor of Journalism in 2010, with minors in political science and history. He was born and raised in Chicago.