Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Underwriter Message

Eight state lawmakers will not seek reelection ahead of 2024 legislative session

The west exterior of the Indiana Statehouse, at night.
Brandon Smith
IPB News
Since 2012, an average of about 13 state lawmakers per election cycle have opted not to run for reelection, either to retire or seek a different office.

Three more state lawmakers have announced they won’t run for reelection this year ahead of the start of the 2024 legislative session.

Rep. Ryan Hatfield (D-Evansville) this week became the first Democrat this election cycle to announce he wouldn’t seek another term in his Statehouse seat. Instead, after eight years in office, he’s running for circuit court judge.

Rep. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) and Rep. Dennis Zent (R-Angola) aren’t running for any office this year, announcing recently they’ll retire after nine and 12 years in their Statehouse seats, respectively.

READ MORE: Why do incumbents have such a big advantage in elections?

Find more answers on engaging with state government by visiting our project: Civically, Indiana.

This election cycle, there have now been eight state lawmakers who have announced they won’t run for reelection, either to retire or seek a different office. Since 2012, there has been an average of around 13 such decisions per election cycle. Five others have resigned with their replacements chosen by local party caucus.

A total of 125 state lawmakers — every member of the House and half the Senate — have until Feb. 9 to decide whether to run for reelection.

Brandon is our Statehouse bureau chief. Contact him at or follow him on Twitter at @brandonjsmith5.

Brandon Smith has covered the Statehouse for Indiana Public Broadcasting for more than a decade, spanning three governors and a dozen legislative sessions. He's also the host of Indiana Week in Review, a weekly political and policy discussion program seen and heard across the state. He previously worked at KBIA in Columbia, Missouri and WSPY in Plano, Illinois. His first job in radio was in another state capitol - Jefferson City, Missouri - as a reporter for three stations around the Show-Me State.