Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Election Night 2022: Unofficial results show strong Republican showing, few surprises

Brittany Smith

According to preliminary and unofficial northeast Indiana election results Tuesday night, Democrat Kyle Miller defeated Republican Davyd Jones in the newly-created State House District 82.

Miller had run unsuccessfully against Republican Martin Carbaugh in both 2018 and 2020 for the 81st House seat. The newly-drawn district leans Democratic.

Troy Hershberger is slated to become the next Allen County Sheriff.

Hershberger, the county’s chief deputy, defeated Fort Wayne Police Detective Kevin Hunter.

Hershberger replaces his boss, two-term Sheriff David Gladieux who was prohibited from seeking re-election by term limits.

Allen County Third District Commissioner Richard Beck, a Republican, held onto his seat against challenger Jorge Fernandez, a Democrat.

After the retirement of State Senator Dennis Kruse in the 14th District, the seat was open for the taking.

According to early results, it appears Allen County Republican Dr. Tyler Johnson defeated Democrat Zach Heimach, of Auburn.

Rebecca manages the news at WBOI. She joined the staff in December 2017, and brought with her nearly two decades of experience in print journalism, including 15 years as an award-winning reporter for the Journal Gazette in Fort Wayne.