Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Arp, Hines chosen as City Council leadership for 2022

Rebecca Green/WBOI News

Fort Wayne City Council met Tuesday night for its first meeting of 2022.

All nine members were present to select the president and vice president of the body for the upcoming year.

4th District Republican Jason Arp was nominated across the aisle by at-large Democrat Glynn Hines. Arp was selected over fellow Republican Russ Jehl by a 5-4 margin.

"I appreciate the vote of confidence you’ve given me this evening. Hopefully I’ll be able to earn the honor that you’ve given me, so I really appreciate that," Arp said.

Hines was nominated, and selected, as the body vice president, also narrowly beating out Jehl on a 5-4 vote.

This concludes Republican Paul Ensley's tenure as body president; he was given a plaque by Jehl to commemorate his work during a very challenging 2021.

While committee appointments were not established just yet, 6th District Democrat Sharon Tucker was unanimously named Council's representative on the SEED board. Hines appointed her, citing her ongoing projects related to housing on the Southeast side.

Zach joined 89.1 WBOI as a reporter and local host for All Things Considered. He currently hosts Morning Edition.