Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
WBOI is working with our engineers and streaming service provider to address an ongoing streaming issue experienced across our platforms. We apologize for the continued inconvenience.

Indiana Casts Its 11 Electoral College Votes

Brandon Smith
IPB News

Indiana cast its 11 electoral votes for President Donald Trump Monday as the nation’s Electoral College helps wrap up the 2020 presidential election.

It was a brief and straightforward process, held in the Indiana House of Representatives chamber. Indiana’s electors are chosen by the state party conventions, earlier in the year. Because Trump won the state, the Indiana Republican Party electors cast their ballots.

They were quickly counted before Secretary of State Connie Lawson wrapped up the meeting.

“The ballots cast for the president of the United States have been tabulated," Lawson said. "All 11 votes have been cast for Donald J. Trump.”

According to the Secretary of State’s office, Indiana has never had a so-called “faithless elector” – someone who cast their ballot for the candidate who did not win the most votes in the state.

Contact reporter Brandon at or follow him on Twitter at @brandonjsmith5.

Brandon Smith is excited to be working for public radio in Indiana. He has previously worked in public radio as a reporter and anchor in mid-Missouri for KBIA Radio out of Columbia. Prior to that, he worked for WSPY Radio in Plano, Illinois as a show host, reporter, producer and anchor. His first job in radio was in another state capitol, in Jefferson City, Missouri, as a reporter for three radio stations around Missouri. Brandon graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with a Bachelor of Journalism in 2010, with minors in political science and history. He was born and raised in Chicago.