Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

FWCS Awards 2020-2021 Teacher of the Year to Two Educators

Recipients of the award stand in front of the Board of Trustees with their respective principals and the district Superintendent.
Credit FILE PHOTO: Rebecca Green / WBOI

Fort Wayne Community Schools announced its picks for Teacher of the Year for the 2020-21 school year Monday night.

The title went to two teachers.

Debra Honn is a third grade teacher at Indian Village Elementary School who has taught for 25 years, with the past five at Indian Village. In her time with the school, Honn has revived the annual science fair and started a robotics club.

“The passionate energy she exudes to help her students learn and grow is contagious,” said Kara Miller, principal at Indian Village. “Mrs. Hann tailors her classroom so that it is an engaging learning environment for each and every student.”

The other recipient was Lisa Clegg, an English Language Learners teacher at Northrop High School who has taught for eight years, with two at Northrop. Clegg’s students come from 28 countries and speak more than 30 languages.

“When I think of the qualities of a Teacher of the Year candidate, an unwavering drive for student success is one of the first characteristics that comes to mind,” said Northrop principal Erica Almas. “Her dedication and can-do attitude will continue to have a positive impact on our students and staff.”

The district received 49 submissions from its principals for the award and narrowed the nominations to eight finalists before choosing the winners.

Ella Abbott is a multimedia reporter for 89.1 WBOI. She is a strong believer in the ways audio storytelling can engage an audience and create a sensory experience.
Related Content